Explore Place
The parish was founded in 1650. The village and the parish lie in the area of the Spiš Zamagurze region, which was the subject of a dispute between the Bishopric of Cracow and the Bishopric of Ostříhom (Hungary) in the 13th and 14th centuries. Eventually, the disputed area was subordinated to the Ostrzyhom archdiocese, and from 1776 to the Spiš diocese, which was separated from it. In 1920, a part of Spisz was annexed to Poland (creating the Polish Spisz) with 9 parishes, which under Pope Pius XI's bull Vixdum Poloniae unitas was subordinated to the Archdiocese of Kraków.
-
Salesian priests ...
This order was founded in the mid-19th century after the apparitions of Our Lady at La Salette.
-
Architecture of the church
The interior furnishings are homogeneous Rococo, dating from 1760-1776. The main altar features a painting of the patron saints of the church, Saints Peter and Paul. The pulpit with rich woodcarving decoration is visible. The baptismal font is stone, with a wooden cover, baroque-folk.
-
location
The church is situated in the western part of the village, on a high terrace descending southwards towards the Lapšianska Creek. The temple is called the pearl of rococo in the Spiš region.